Meet William Shakespeare by Hubert Phillips and Pearl Falconer: The Cornleaf Press: First Edition: 1949: Signed

Described in the introduction as 'the first of a series of books, designed to introduce - in an acceptable format - the work of some of our great writers.'

The book introduces the reader to eight plays: Richard II; Twelfth Night; The Tempest; Romeo and Juliet; Macbeth; Othello; Antony and Cleopatra and Hamlet. All have an illustration by Pearl Falconer in a very distinctive style (see the full-sized photos), mainly at the beginning of their own section, but the illustration for The Tempest forms the frontispiece for the book.

Each section comprises of probably the best-known sections of the play - a kind of 'best of'. Rather a modern concept.

Paperback with an attractive but foxed dustwrapper: about 8.5" by 5.5"; 105pp; printed by the Curwen Press. Plaistow. Signed by the author.


$25 USD

Add to Wish List

Another shopper has this item in their Cart or Wish List.

Oban Antiques

Pam Baker, Oban, UK   

Antiques, Collectables, Jewellery, Prints and Books.

Exclusive Ruby Lane Member since 1999

From Scotland to you ~ with love

Shipping/Handling:$6.00 USD

Price for shipping to USA change location

Estimate shipping to a different location: