An ACME THUNDERER Guards Whistle marked with M.D.R. complete with chain. The Metropolitan District Railway (commonly known as the District Railway) was created in 1864 to complete the inner circle, an underground railway in London. The first line, from South Kensington to Westminster, opened in 1868 serviced at first by the Metropolitan Railway using gas-lit wooden carriages hauled by steam locomotives. The railway was soon extended westwards through Earl's Court to Fulham, Richmond, Ealing and Hounslow. After completing the inner circle and reaching Whitechapel in 1884 it extended to Upminster in East London in 1902. With the need to finance electrification of the lines at the beginning of the 20th century it was taken over by Charles Yerkes and became part of his Underground Electric Railways Company of London (UERL) group. Electric traction was introduced in 1905 and by the end of the year electric multiple units operated all of the services. On 1 July 1933, the District Railway and the underground railways of the UERL was amalgamated with the Metropolitan Railway and the capital's tramway and bus operators to form the London Passenger Transport Board. Former District Railway tracks and stations are STILL used by the London Underground's District and Piccadilly lines.
At Molloy's of Milford Antiques Centre, Auckland, New Zealand
Specialists in Pacific Islands Items, Victoriana, And a Fascinating Range of General Collectibles