A souvenir purchased on-board the R.M.S. ARUNDEL... it is in nice condition with a diameter of 1 1/4". Originally laid down as Amroth Castle, the Arundel Castle was built at the Harland and Wolff yards in Belfast, she was launched on 11 September 1919. The advent of faster liners on the Cape run necessitated modernisation of the Arundel and in 1937 she was sent back to her builders where she was re-engined and modernised, loosing 2 of her funnels and getting a new bow which gave her a much sleeker and balanced look. She re-entered service in late 1937. World War 2 saw her and her sisters ship the WINDSOR, being used as Troop Ships with the Windsor being lost in 1943 after an air attack The Arundel survived the war and was taken back into the mail service on the Cape run and while immensely popular was very dated. She continued in service until withdrawn in 1958. She sailed on her last voyage to the breakers on 30 December 1958, the last of the four funnel liners in service.
Item ID: 8117
At Molloy's of Milford Antiques Centre, Auckland, New Zealand
Specialists in Pacific Islands Items, Victoriana, And a Fascinating Range of General Collectibles